M is for Moon landing

I was pretty young when Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin landed on the moon. (I guess I should say “the Earth’s moon,” since there are a lot of other moons out there.) My mom made me watch it on tv; she said it was history in the making – not just the fact that two men were actually on the moon, but also the fact that we were able to watch it in real time.

I know I was way to young to understand just how historic it was – I had no sense of history, or science for that matter, at that point in my life. But my mom was pretty smart so I figured she knew what she was talking about. And I’d seen the moon, so I could understand that it was really far away and therefore it was probably a really really big deal to get to it.

I wasn’t too young to know there were starving children in India, though. I was a chubby child as a result of having to clean my plate because of those starving children in India. (“Finish your dinner; there are starving children in India.”) What I couldn’t understand was how the grown-ups could figure out how to get to the moon but they couldn’t figure out how to feed the starving kids in India. But what did I know? I was just a kid. I assumed that when I grew up, I’d understand those kind of grown-up things.

I guess I haven’t grown up yet.

M is for Moon landing

8 thoughts on “M is for Moon landing

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    I haven’t completely grown up either!

    You’ve got some good posts here for A to Z. Is everything okay? I see you’ve stalled out at “M”. Do you think you can finish?

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. Thanks! And thanks for asking if everything’s ok. I was out of commission due to surgery for a few days but hoping to jump back in. I like the “A to Z” concept for writing motivation. I didn’t pick a specific theme for this month but I think I will keep the concept and do a particular theme each month (or two) – does that make sense? Thanks again!

      Like

    1. Not only will i participate again next year, but it’s inspired me to blog using the A to Z concept but with specific themes – e.g. travel, food, jobs, etc. It might take me more than 26 days to get through each theme, but it’s given me the motivation i’ve need for a long time to start writing more, and more consistently. thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

