A is for April … and Appendix

I’m always hearing people say things like, live every day to the fullest because you never know what’s going to happen to you. I used to roll my eyes at that because frankly nothing so life-altering ever happened to me. Until February 4. After dinner I got a really bad tummy ache and fever and I couldn’t stop shaking. But I figured I could sleep it off so I just went to bed … for 5 days – not counting a visit to the doctor, who ordered a CT scan. By the time I got the CT scan on day 5, I was in such distress that the radiologist read the scan immediately and then had a nurse wheel me directly over to the ER. Who knew a burst appendix could wreak so much havoc in an otherwise healthy body? Bits of appendix everywhere inside of me, infections galore, abscesses too big to fathom – in short, an absolute mess. Things were so bad it took a full two weeks before a fleet of doctors decided I was well enough to go home. (I’ll spare you the therapeutic details.) Two weeks! Who the heck stays in the hospital for two weeks? And guess what? The doctors were wrong! Five days later, I was re-admitted, this time for a week, during which time I had major abdominal surgery that lasted nearly four hours and left me feeling like I was pummeled by herd of hippopotomuses. It’s now a month later and I still feel like I”m living in someone else’s body. And my only consolation is that, well, you just never know what’s going to happen to you.

A is for April … and Appendix

One thought on “A is for April … and Appendix

  1. mladne1012 says:

    That’s awful! I hope you start to feel better. It looks like this is a new blog. Keep it up. It can be hard in the beginning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

